In A Relationship with Harry Potter, and It’s Complicated

I was about 12 the first time I met Harry, and I fell in love right away. He was different from any other movie heroes, as he wasn’t good-looking nor smart nor strong…he was so normal, that I actually felt like he was a real boy. And then, there was Ron, so charmingly charmless, even Hermione couldn’t get enough of him. When she fell for him, I fell for him. I totally worshipped the ground they walked on.

Growing up, I got a lot of temptations, but Harry Potter was still my true love. Until one day, I met Pippin. I got so fascinated with Pippin and Hobbiton and the Middle Earth, so I began to question Harry. How is it that Dobby speaks in third-person about himself as Gollum does? How is it that the Dementors resemble the Nazgul in so many ways? How come there were some similar events in both stories?

Some people may say that it’s not that important, but for me unoriginality is a big turn-off. Finding out that Harry wasn’t as genuine as I thought he was, was truly heartbreaking. So I tried to avoid him, but I failed. I was so addicted to Harry and Ron and Hermione. It was like knowing that sweets aren’t good for your teeth, but you just can’t help having them. So I said to myself, it can’t be all bad, I assured myself, Harry must still have something good, and so I picked up the pieces of my heart and moved on to the next book.

Starting from the fifth book our relationship was very rocky, but I had hope for Ron and Hermione, and so I kept holding on. Besides, I just couldn’t  leave him after all those times. It felt like having a boyfriend for so long, and you got sick of him already but couldn’t break up with him because you feel like you’ve been together for too long.

Last week, I watched the final Harry Potter movie. In the end, Ron and Hermione did get together. That’s pretty much all I care about. I finally can end my love and hate relationship with Harry, and move on now. I’m sorry that my relationship with Harry did not work out, but I will not regret every time we spent together. And, yes, I’m fully aware this is just a story, and that I appear to be lebay. But, hey, what’s life without a little of lebay-ness, right? :p

About qezzia

lone wolf. clumsy pony. cuddly bunny. random squirrel. cheeky monkey. competitive cheetah. curious cat. View all posts by qezzia

Leave a Reply

